Chains (The Seeds of America Trilogy) By: Laurie Halse Anderson


By: Laurie Halse Anderson

This is a historical fiction book. It takes place in the Revolutionary War.

Chains is about two sisters, Isabel and Ruth. Their mom died. They are free, but somebody believes that they belong to him. They are sold and go to a new place. They end up with a family that is faithful to the British, The Locktons. Isabel wants the best for her sister Ruth and does not always listen. Ruth gets sold away from her. Isabel tries to escape, but is caught. She is branded on her right cheek with the letter I. Isabel is stuck with the Locktons again. Throughout the book it shows it shows what life was like for different people in the time period. It shows what life would be like for slaves, people in the army, patriots, redcoats, and rich families. This series continues with two more books. I am currently on book number two.

If you like historical fiction or history this is the book for you. If you like this book or other books by Laurie Halse Anderson you might also like Prom, Classroom Library, Catalyst, Shout, and more.

This book is for fifth-seventh graders.

I give this book 5 out of 5 bookworms.   Bookworm

Lexi, The Reading Rockstar

**Adults — If you are interested in purchasing this book, please consider supporting our blog by using our affiliate link below. (Click on book cover image.) Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s